MMAValor Store

UFC 147: Silva vs. Franklin II Quick Results

The UFC made a quick turnaround following Fridays UFC on FX 4 with Saturdays UFC 147, aka the TUF Brasil Finale. Live from the Mineirinho Arena in Belo Horizonte, Brazil, UFC 147 crowned two new TUF winners in Cezar Ferreira and Rony Mariano Bezerra.

Headlining the UFC 147 fight card was the rematch from UFC 99 between Wanderlei Silva and Rich Franklin. The bout was originally scheduled to be TUF Brasil coaches Vitor Belfort and Silva but a late injury to Belfort forced the change at the top. Franklin had won their first meeting but was stepping into the Octagon for the first time in over 16 months.

The two veterans showed what a UFC headliner bout is supposed to be like and put on a “Fight of the Night” performance. Franklin found himself in serious trouble at the end of round two and was likely saved by the bell. He’d recover quickly though and control the remaining three rounds on his way to a clear-cut unanimous decision.

Also on the UFC 147 main card was Fabricio Werdum, who took on Mike Russow in the night’s only heavyweight bout. Following up a one-sided decision win over Roy Nelson at UFC 143, Werdum made quick work of Russow with a first round TKO victory. Werdum would call out the UFC heavyweight champion Junior Dos Santos after the win but will at least have to get in line behind Cain Velasquez and probably Alistair Overeem.

The night was filled with Brazilian talent in front of a packed house and here are the complete UFC 147 results.

Main Card:

190 lbs.: Rich Franklin defeated Wanderlei Silva by Unanimous Decision (49-46, 49-46, 49-46)

TUF Brasil 185 lbs. Final: Cezar Ferreira defeated Sergio Moraes by Unanimous Decision (29-28, 30-27, 30-27)

TUF: Brasil 145 lbs. Final: Rony Mariano Bezerra defeated Godofredo Pepey by Unanimous Decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

265 lbs.: Fabricio Werdum defeated Mike Russow by 1st rd. TKO

145 lbs.: Hacran Dias defeated Yuri Alcantara by Unanimous Decision (29-28, 30-27, 30-27)

Preliminary Card:

Rodrigo Damm defeated Anistavio Medeiros  by Submission (Rear Naked Choke)

Francisco Denaldo defeated Delson Heleno by 1st rd. TKO

Hugo Viana defeated John Teixeira by Split Decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)

Thiago Perpétuo defeated Leonardo Mafra by 3rd rd. TKO

Marcos Vanicius defeated Wagner Campos by 3rd rd. TKO

Felipe Arantes and Milton Viera fought to a DRAW (28-29, 29-28, 28-28)

 Powered by Max Banner Ads 

Tags: Anistavio Medeiros, Cezar Ferreira, Delson Heleno, Fabricio Werdum, Felipe Arantes, Francisco Denaldo, Godofredo Pepey, Hacran Dias, Hugo Viana, John Teixeira, Leonardo Mafra, Marcos Vanicius, Mike Russow, Milton Viera, Mixed Martial Arts, MMA, Results, Rich Franklin, Rodrigo Damm, Rony Mariano Bezerra, Sergio Moraes, Thiago Perpétuo, TUF Brasil, UFC, UFC 147, Wagner Campos, Wanderlei Silva, Yuri Alcantara

Category: Featured, MMA, Results, UFC

About the Author ()

My brain child is MMAValor, something I had wanted to do for a long time and finally it’s here. Been an MMA fan since TUF season one (play catch up all the time) and the obsession started to grow like a weed and as the sport grows so does the love for the sport. I’m a jack of all trades, a very organized person that rides an emotional roller coaster daily.

Leave a Reply

Refresh Image